Sugar Ant Invasion = New Organized Pantry

Waking up on Monday morning and heading into the pantry for a big bowl of cereal…….what do we find???? THE GREAT ANT INVASION!!! You really gotta love this time of year when those pesky little sugar ants come into your home. But this post isn’t about the ants, but about the brand new amazing pantry that came out of it. My pantry was a disaster, I’m not going to lie.  It was in need of a makeover……

Before Pantry (with no ants)
Before Pantry

So, let the fun begin….I knew I wanted to add a different color to the shelf backs, but I didn’t have the time to paint since my pantry was all over my kitchen. I found a great website with a pantry similar to mine that had a vinyl backing, but didn’t have time to order.  If you have the time….this would be a great option:  http://www.thehouseofsmithsdesigns.com/product/quatrefoil-design-1-sheet

The House of Smiths Design Blog

I truly love this color and design, but it doesn’t fit with my decor. I wanted to wallpaper, but didn’t have time, so I got the next best thing…..adhesive contact paper.  It’s a great alternative to wallpaper (in small areas) and fairly easy to apply.  I choose a paper from Target, but there are so many options out there:

Target Floral Celery

A great website for fun contact papers:  http://www.designyourwall.com/store/Self-Adhesive-Shelf-Liner-Contact-paper-c-123.html http://www.interiorplace.com/categories/Contact-Paper-Self-Adhesive-shelf-liners/Most of my shelves had already been lined with adhesive cork paper, but I did finish up what was left.  I used paper purchased from Container Store.

Self-Adhesive Cork Shelf Liner

Here are pictures of the finished pantry with Contact Paper “Wallpaper” and Cork Shelf Liner.

Finished "Wallpaper"
Finished "Wallpaper"

Okay….now time to put everything back…a little more organized than before.  I  had a few organizational tools, but I did decide to make a trip to Target to get a few more.  I added some glass storage for all of my baking items and some plastic storage for my cereals, snacks, etc.  Baskets for smaller items and some larger baskets and boxes for larger items.

Glass Storage Containers from Target

I added labels to my glass containers for Sugar, Oats, Flour, Rice Pasta, etc.  I got the labels from a great Free template:  http://thepaintedhive.blogspot.com/2012/02/magic-decal-transfer-tutorial-with-free.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+ThePaintedHive+%28The+Painted+Hive%29&utm_content=Google+ReaderThe Painted Hive shows you how to do vinyl decal, which in all honestly would probably look better, but considering I was on a time crunch,  I decided to use clear sticker paper and just print the labels and cut them out.  I’m happy with the end result, it works for me.  Another option would be chalkboard labels which you could change the label as often as necessary.

Chalkboard Labels

So without further hesitation, here is the final pantry…..

Small Storage
Labeled Glass Storage Jars

I hope this has been helpful if you are trying to redo a pantry, but I hope that the reason you have to do it is not because of a sugar ant invasion.

Happy Organizing!

~the little chick~

2 thoughts on “Sugar Ant Invasion = New Organized Pantry

Leave a Reply

